Hovatek Forum
[Development] How to get the mount points of an Android phone - Printable Version

+- Hovatek Forum (https://forum.hovatek.com)
+-- Forum: DEVELOPMENT (https://forum.hovatek.com/forum-38.html)
+--- Forum: Android (https://forum.hovatek.com/forum-39.html)
+--- Thread: [Development] How to get the mount points of an Android phone (/thread-11203.html)



How to get the mount points of an Android phone - hovatek - 01-08-2016

When porting a custom recovery,  it's important you specify the correct mount points in recovery.fstab to avoid problems. You might also need the mount points to dump a partition via adb dd method

Requirements


Steps to get a Mediatek, Spreadtrum, Qualcomm etc Android phone's mount points


Follow the steps below to get an Android phone's mount points

See the video tutorial below or @ https://youtu.be/yvpus846WZU

  1. Install a root browser (e.g ROM Toolbox lite) and navigate to the dev/block/platform folder
  2. Open each folder in the platform folder till you find a folder named "by-name"
  3. Take note of the name folder in which the "by-name" folder is found (for this tutorial, lets call it parentfolder)
  4. Alternatively, you can use the cd command in command prompt to run this search
  5. Launch ADB and type the code below. Press Enter after each line

    Code:
    adb devices
    adb shell
    su
    ls -al /dev/block/platform/parentfolder/by-name


    [Image: how-to-get-mount-points-of-an-android-phone.jpg]

  6. You should get an output like in the image below

    [Image: how-to-get-the-mount-points-of-an-mtk-or...-phone.jpg]



RE: How to get the mount points of a Mediatek or Spreadtrum Android phone - Drockstar - 01-09-2016

Boss don't really understand the used and the important of this tutorial..(mount point )


RE: How to get the mount points of a Mediatek or Spreadtrum Android phone - X3non - 01-09-2016

(01-09-2016, 05:54 AM)Drockstar Wrote:  Boss don't really understand the used and the important of this tutorial..(mount point )

when porting images (boot or recovery) you're going to need to know the mount points of that particular device you wish to port the image to

* thats what this tutorial is for


RE: How to get the mount points of a Mediatek or Spreadtrum Android phone - edneyhelene - 12-31-2016

Thanks alot for this!


How to get the mount points of a Mediatek or Spreadtrum Android phone - Omnitrix - 02-26-2017

SD card show 0mb help me here is screenshot link [Image: 11b044a503d0645918a28b387c0703fd.jpg]

Sent from my Pixel V2 using the Hovatek Forum App


RE: How to get the mount points of a Mediatek or Spreadtrum Android phone - Omnitrix - 02-26-2017

(02-26-2017, 11:15 AM)Omnitrix Wrote:  SD card show 0mb help me here is screenshot link [Image: 11b044a503d0645918a28b387c0703fd.jpg]

Sent from my Pixel V2 using the Hovatek Forum App
Here is mount points[Image: b9095dcec8912fe7b64388d4a88720d2.jpg]

Sent from my Pixel V2 using the Hovatek Forum App


RE: How to get the mount points of a Mediatek or Spreadtrum Android phone - suhi02 - 12-21-2017

HI ,

I am trying to create a flashable zip as mentioned here - https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-20497.html
Mount failed while flashing system image.

as per the instruction I have chosen
WHAT YOUR OPTION [DEFAULT=FROM_KERNEL 1=FROM_DEVICE 2=MANUALLY 0=CANCEL]:2

My system is found here - /dev/block/platform/soc.0/7824900.sdhci/by-name

So my question is what do I write in WRITE THE PATH HERE:

Any help will be appreciated

Thanks


RE: How to get the mount points of a Mediatek or Spreadtrum Android phone - suhi02 - 12-21-2017

(12-21-2017, 02:54 PM)suhi02 Wrote:  HI ,

I am trying to create a flashable zip as mentioned here - https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-20497.html
Mount failed while flashing system image.

as per the instruction I have chosen
WHAT YOUR OPTION [DEFAULT=FROM_KERNEL 1=FROM_DEVICE 2=MANUALLY 0=CANCEL]:2

My system is found here - /dev/block/platform/soc.0/7824900.sdhci/by-name

So my question is what do I write in WRITE THE PATH HERE:

Any help will be appreciated

Thanks

Hi following are my mount points

lrwxrwxrwx root     root              1970-06-06 11:56 syscfg -> /dev/block/mmcblk0p35
lrwxrwxrwx root     root              1970-06-06 11:56 system -> /dev/block/mmcblk0p24
lrwxrwxrwx root     root              1970-06-06 11:56 tz -> /dev/block/mmcblk0p8



Please tell me what should i put in Write the path here while creating zip file?
Thanks



RE: How to get the mount points of a Mediatek or Spreadtrum Android phone - innagee - 12-21-2017

(12-21-2017, 02:54 PM)suhi02 Wrote:  HI ,

I am trying to create a flashable zip as mentioned here - https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-20497.html
Mount failed while flashing system image.

as per the instruction I have chosen
WHAT YOUR OPTION [DEFAULT=FROM_KERNEL 1=FROM_DEVICE 2=MANUALLY 0=CANCEL]:2

My system is found here - /dev/block/platform/soc.0/7824900.sdhci/by-name

So my question is what do I write in WRITE THE PATH HERE:

Any help will be appreciated

Thanks

Please, create a new thread, so we can focus on it.
See https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-514.html for how to create a thread.


RE: How to get the mount points of a Mediatek or Spreadtrum Android phone - X3non - 12-21-2017

(12-21-2017, 02:54 PM)suhi02 Wrote:  ...

Any help will be appreciated

Thanks

from the selection you made, "2". 2 is for manual input
type in the mount point of /system partition on your device.
Code:
e.g
/dev/block/platform/soc.0/7824900.sdhci/by-name

if you still have more queries based on this, then create a new thread so we'll focus on this
see https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-514.html for how to create a thread