Hovatek Forum
[Tutorial] How to add Access Point Name (APN) to your SWIFT Mifi / Hub - Printable Version

+- Hovatek Forum (https://forum.hovatek.com)
+-- Forum: NETWORK INFO. & BROWSING TWEAKS (https://forum.hovatek.com/forum-60.html)
+--- Forum: Swift (https://forum.hovatek.com/forum-65.html)
+--- Thread: [Tutorial] How to add Access Point Name (APN) to your SWIFT Mifi / Hub (/thread-12269.html)

Pages: 1 2


How to add Access Point Name (APN) to your SWIFT Mifi / Hub - X3non - 03-16-2016

This guide will explain how to add / change APN on your Swift Mifi / Hub

Why would I want to add / change APN?


After unlocking your mifi device and switching the sim, you might notice some mobile network sims don't auto connect or connect at all if you haven't set the correct APN as default. You'll need to add the correct APN before that network sim will connect


How to add Access Point Names (APN) to your SWIFT Mifi / Hub


The steps below explain how to add Access Point Name (APN) to your SWIFT Mifi / Hub

  1. Connect to your Mifi device (either through USB or Wifi)
  2. Open the web management page using any browser (see https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-11172.html for how to access the dashboard directly from your phone)
    [Image: attachment.php?aid=2027]

  3. Login using your username and password (see https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-11913.html if you've forgotten yours)
  4. Goto Settings > Dial-up > Profile Management
    [Image: attachment.php?aid=2028]

  5. Click on New Profile
    [Image: attachment.php?aid=2029]

  6. Type in a "profile name" and "APN" (very important)
  7. Click on save then set it as default


Importance Notice


RE: How to add Access Point Names (APN) to your SWIFT Mifi / Hub - klingkling - 03-16-2016

but the swift HUAWEI LTE CPE E5172 dont have profile manager
am thinking maybe there is a way to upgrade /downgrade the firmware or the dashboard
with that maybe there will be a way to add apn


RE: How to add Access Point Names (APN) to your SWIFT Mifi / Hub - X3non - 03-17-2016

(03-16-2016, 08:07 PM)klingkling Wrote:  but the swift HUAWEI LTE CPE E5172 dont have profile manager
am thinking maybe there is a way to upgrade /downgrade the firmware or the dashboard
with that maybe there will be a way to add apn

did you follow the guide above?

remember to
* connect to the device using usb or wifi
* then open any browser of your choice (ensure your browser isnt set to use a proxy server)
* type 192.168.8.1 or 192.168.1.1 and hit enter
that should get you to the web management page


RE: How to add Access Point Names (APN) to your SWIFT Mifi / Hub - klingkling - 03-17-2016

(03-17-2016, 12:47 PM)X3non Wrote:  
(03-16-2016, 08:07 PM)klingkling Wrote:  but the swift HUAWEI LTE CPE E5172 dont have profile manager
am thinking maybe there is a way to upgrade /downgrade the firmware or the dashboard
with that maybe there will be a way to add apn

did you follow the guide above?

remember to
* connect to the device using usb or wifi
* then open any browser of your choice (ensure your browser isnt set to use a proxy server)
* type 192.168.8.1 or 192.168.1.1 and hit enter
that should get you to the web management page

kindly check the attachment screenshot of my SWIFT LTE CPE E5172 dashboard,


RE: How to add Access Point Names (APN) to your SWIFT Mifi / Hub - X3non - 03-19-2016

(03-17-2016, 02:26 PM)klingkling Wrote:  kindly check the attachment screenshot of my SWIFT LTE CPE E5172 dashboard,

thats a totally different interface
click on all those tabs one after the other
look for "dial-up" or "profile management"


RE: How to add Access Point Names (APN) to your SWIFT Mifi / Hub - klingkling - 03-20-2016

(03-19-2016, 03:09 PM)X3non Wrote:  
(03-17-2016, 02:26 PM)klingkling Wrote:  kindly check the attachment screenshot of my SWIFT LTE CPE E5172 dashboard,

thats a totally different interface
click on all those tabs one after the other
look for "dial-up" or "profile management"


Believe me man nothing like that on the interface, I thing the only solution to this is upgrading the interface or the firmware,
Can you help me and guide me through in how to go about the upgrade or downgrade ?


RE: How to add Access Point Names (APN) to your SWIFT Mifi / Hub - hovatek - 03-20-2016

(03-20-2016, 01:57 PM)klingkling Wrote:  Believe me man nothing like that on the interface, I thing the only solution to this is upgrading the interface or the firmware,
Can you help me and guide me through in how to go about the upgrade or downgrade ?

What do you have under the internet tab?


RE: How to add Access Point Names (APN) to your SWIFT Mifi / Hub - akinluyi - 08-14-2016

dis picture u posted is for swift nomad not the big router am also having same issue here


RE: How to add Access Point Names (APN) to your SWIFT Mifi / Hub - X3non - 08-15-2016

(08-14-2016, 11:18 AM)akinluyi Wrote:  dis picture u posted is for swift nomad not the big router am also having same issue here

It is possible that adding of APNs isnt an added feature on your device
* If you have an UPDATE tab in your dashboard, try updating and see if there's any change


RE: How to add Access Point Names (APN) to your SWIFT Mifi / Hub - tufaze007 - 10-26-2016

in regards to the above APN issue has there been any solution?