Hovatek Forum
How to unpack and repack OS 6.0 system.img - Printable Version

+- Hovatek Forum (https://forum.hovatek.com)
+-- Forum: DEVELOPMENT (https://forum.hovatek.com/forum-38.html)
+--- Forum: Android (https://forum.hovatek.com/forum-39.html)
+--- Thread: How to unpack and repack OS 6.0 system.img (/thread-23379.html)

Pages: 1 2 3


How to unpack and repack OS 6.0 system.img - ryfoz - 07-05-2018

Pls I want to unpack and repack my device system.img
This is the specs

SuperD D1
OS 6.O Marshmallow
MT6750T
64 bit octacore 1.5ghz
3GB RAM/32GB ROM
in-built battery of 3000 mah

I have used MTK THAI Developer Tool v1.0.1.3 (30-06-2016) with both Java and Python
It unpacks but after repacking it, it will still be in folder format not img format

It works well for recovery.img and boot.img

I have also used MTK Extarctor v2.6.3

Any help would be appreciated


RE: How to unpack and repack OS 6.0 system.img - hovatek - 07-05-2018

(07-05-2018, 08:16 AM)ryfoz Wrote:  Pls I want to unpack and repack my device system.img
This is the specs

SuperD D1
OS 6.O Marshmallow
MT6750T
64 bit octacore 1.5ghz
3GB RAM/32GB ROM
in-built battery of 3000 mah

I have used MTK THAI Developer Tool v1.0.1.3 (30-06-2016) with both Java and Python
It unpacks but after repacking it, it will still be in folder format not img format

It works well for recovery.img and boot.img

I have also used MTK Extarctor v2.6.3

Any help would be appreciated

Try Assayyed kitchen @ https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-20497.html
repack as RAW. The flashable zip will contain a syztem.img


RE: How to unpack and repack OS 6.0 system.img - ryfoz - 07-06-2018

(07-05-2018, 10:45 AM)hovatek Wrote:  Try Assayyed kitchen @ https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-20497.html
repack as RAW. The flashable zip will contain a syztem.img

Thanks boss,  testing the Assayed kitchen tool as I am typing this but I noticed I didn't get the signed system.img error you mentioned in your video Tutorial, so I was thinking if the recovery and boot is signed, how come the system is left unsigned?



But that's that, on another note since Assayed kitchen can sign the files repacked can't we use it to modify the patched_boot.img by simply unpacking it with the Assayed tool then repack but will now add sign as finishing touch. Can it work?  Or wat do you suggest?


RE: How to unpack and repack OS 6.0 system.img - ryfoz - 07-06-2018

@ hovatek

Hi boss, I have finished repacking the flash able zip from assayed kitchen and I have extracted it but now I have size issue,  my original system.img is 5.00 but this modified has 3.57GB (nothing was deleted, just replaced a few system fonts)

I hope it doesn't affect installation location for apps? 


NOTE: I didn't create an unmodified system.img as suggested in the thread guide

I didn't choose option 2 where you used STANDALONE, I chose DEFAULT throughout and my output didn't have a META.Inf folder: just system folder and boot.img (in WORK folder)


RE: How to unpack and repack OS 6.0 system.img - hovatek - 07-07-2018

(07-06-2018, 10:20 AM)ryfoz Wrote:  Thanks boss,  testing the Assayed kitchen tool as I am typing this but I noticed I didn't get the signed system.img error you mentioned in your video Tutorial, so I was thinking if the recovery and boot is signed, how come the system is left unsigned?



But that's that, on another note since Assayed kitchen can sign the files repacked can't we use it to modify the patched_boot.img by simply unpacking it with the Assayed tool then repack but will now add sign as finishing touch. Can it work?  Or wat do you suggest?

flashable Zip signing is different from features like -sign.img , secured bootloader etc that ensure you can only flash factory roms


RE: How to unpack and repack OS 6.0 system.img - hovatek - 07-07-2018

(07-06-2018, 11:11 AM)ryfoz Wrote:  @ hovatek

Hi boss, I have finished repacking the flash able zip from assayed kitchen and I have extracted it but now I have size issue,  my original system.img is 5.00 but this modified has 3.57GB (nothing was deleted, just replaced a few system fonts)

I hope it doesn't affect installation location for apps? 


NOTE: I didn't create an unmodified system.img as suggested in the thread guide

I didn't choose option 2 where you used STANDALONE, I chose DEFAULT throughout and my output didn't have a META.Inf folder: just system folder and boot.img (in WORK folder)

There's only one way to find out whether or not it'll work but I have my doubts


RE: How to unpack and repack OS 6.0 system.img - ryfoz - 07-08-2018

(07-07-2018, 09:27 AM)hovatek Wrote:  There's only one way to find out whether or not it'll work but I have my doubts

Hmmm..to flash it right? Oh well #sighs# Sleepy


RE: How to unpack and repack OS 6.0 system.img - ryfoz - 07-12-2018

(07-07-2018, 09:27 AM)hovatek Wrote:  There's only one way to find out whether or not it'll work but I have my doubts

I have successfully flashed the system.img boss (the one I got from ASSAYED KITCHEN)

It flashed without error and now my fonts is changed though I ran into a bit of hiccup

What happened was after successfully downloading the system.img over the current one I felt a factory wipe was necessary so I did it... I forgot I haven't removed my google data fo avoid FRP lock. 

Anyway I got the it stopped at "FRPpingTest".....keeps loading forever. (i felg it's because of the missing FRP files not testored via SPFT

So I turned off my device again and performed and performed a fresh download of all the image files only with the exception of system image

That's how I did it and so far so good....enjoying my font on the device now


RE: How to unpack and repack OS 6.0 system.img - X3non - 07-13-2018

(07-12-2018, 11:53 PM)ryfoz Wrote:  I have successfully flashed the system.img boss (the one I got from ASSAYED KITCHEN)
...
So I turned off my device again and performed and performed a fresh download of all the image files only with the exception of system image

That's how I did it and so far so good....enjoying my font on the device now

try using the root option in assayed, should be number 4 on the list


RE: How to unpack and repack OS 6.0 system.img - ryfoz - 07-13-2018

(07-13-2018, 06:06 PM)X3non Wrote:  try using the root option in assayed, should be number 4 on the list

To repack it? Or where do I select it?