Hovatek Forum
Review:Itel A32F hands-on review... READ MORE (Jun, 2018)
How to backup your build /variant stock ROM for Gionee P5 Mini to root with Magisk - Printable Version

+- Hovatek Forum (https://forum.hovatek.com)
+-- Forum: MOBILE PHONES HELP SECTION (https://forum.hovatek.com/forum-75.html)
+--- Forum: Android (https://forum.hovatek.com/forum-76.html)
+--- Thread: How to backup your build /variant stock ROM for Gionee P5 Mini to root with Magisk (/thread-23464.html)



How to backup your build /variant stock ROM for Gionee P5 Mini to root with Magisk - ptechy - 07-13-2018

Hi,

I have a Gionee P5 Mini that I want to root.My build number is [SW VERSION] P5 mini_0201_V5943[HW VERSION] P5 mini_Mainboard_P2 . All the apk based rooting techniques have failed. I do not have the stock ROM for my particular variant in order to use Magisk to root it.

So I tried to use MTK Droid Tools to get this backup stock ROM but its not working. The phone is detected alright but the button to build the scatter file is greyed out. I see that hovatek already has a stock ROM for the Gionee P5 Mini ( Gionee_P5_Mini_T5312 ), but I am not sure it is compatible with my variant and I dont want to brick my phone or weaken its current features.

So how do I backup my stock ROM in order to successfully root my Gionee P5 Mini?

Thanks in advance for your time.


RE: How to backup your build /variant stock ROM for Gionee P5 Mini to root with Magisk - innagee - 07-13-2018

(07-13-2018, 01:42 PM)ptechy Wrote:  Hi,

I have a Gionee P5 Mini that I want to root.My build number is [SW VERSION] P5 mini_0201_V5943[HW VERSION] P5 mini_Mainboard_P2 . All the apk based rooting techniques have failed. I do not have the stock ROM for my particular variant in order to use Magisk to root it.

So I tried to use MTK Droid Tools to get this backup stock ROM but its not working. The phone is detected alright but the button to build the scatter file is greyed out. I see that hovatek already has a stock ROM for the Gionee P5 Mini ( Gionee_P5_Mini_T5312 ), but I am not sure it is compatible with my variant and I dont want to brick my phone or weaken its current features.

So how do I backup my stock ROM in order to successfully root my Gionee P5 Mini?

Thanks in advance for your time.

Backup your stock ROM using miracle @ https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-13347.html

Copy and rename boot.bin to boot.img then use magisk @ https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-21427.html to root

Sent from my M5mini using Hovatek Mobile


RE: How to backup your build /variant stock ROM for Gionee P5 Mini to root with Magisk - ptechy - 07-13-2018

(07-13-2018, 02:59 PM)innagee Wrote:  
(07-13-2018, 01:42 PM)ptechy Wrote:  Hi,

I have a Gionee P5 Mini that I want to root.My build number is [SW VERSION] P5 mini_0201_V5943[HW VERSION] P5 mini_Mainboard_P2 . All the apk based rooting techniques have failed. I do not have the stock ROM for my particular variant in order to use Magisk to root it.

So I tried to use MTK Droid Tools to get this backup stock ROM but its not working. The phone is detected alright but the button to build the scatter file is greyed out. I see that hovatek already has a stock ROM for the Gionee P5 Mini ( Gionee_P5_Mini_T5312 ), but I am not sure it is compatible with my variant and I dont want to brick my phone or weaken its current features.

So how do I backup my stock ROM in order to successfully root my Gionee P5 Mini?

Thanks in advance for your time.

Backup your stock ROM using miracle
Copy and rename boot.bin to boot.img then use magisk

Sent from my M5mini using Hovatek Mobile

But backing up my stock ROM with Miracle requires a hardware Miracle Box Dongle ? Or so says the notes in the link you posted? Is it possible to do this any other way without having to buy the Miracle Box Dongle? Where do I even find that Dongle?


RE: How to backup your build /variant stock ROM for Gionee P5 Mini to root with Magisk - X3non - 07-13-2018

(07-13-2018, 07:26 PM)ptechy Wrote:  But backing up my stock ROM with Miracle requires a hardware Miracle Box Dongle ? Or so says the notes in the link you posted? Is it possible to do this any other way without having to buy the Miracle Box Dongle? Where do I even find that Dongle?

if you do not have the box, you can use the version with loader.exe at https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-15700.html
follow the backup process in the link in @innagee's previous post