Hovatek Forum
[PARTIALLY FIXED!] TWRP 3.0.2-1 can't wipe cache; can't restore backed up partitions - Printable Version

+- Hovatek Forum (https://forum.hovatek.com)
+-- Forum: DEVELOPMENT (https://forum.hovatek.com/forum-38.html)
+--- Forum: Android (https://forum.hovatek.com/forum-39.html)
+--- Thread: [PARTIALLY FIXED!] TWRP 3.0.2-1 can't wipe cache; can't restore backed up partitions (/thread-24218.html)

Pages: 1 2


[PARTIALLY FIXED!] TWRP 3.0.2-1 can't wipe cache; can't restore backed up partitions - Samuel Banda - 09-07-2018

Hello....

Wz jx about to flash a custom rom with OS ported for my kernel and chip, until TWRP failed to wipe cache partition.

It wiped Davik Cache, but failed to wipe cache with the error:
Quote:formatting cache using mkfs.f2fs

mkfs.f2fs -t 0 /dev/block/mmcblk0p19 process ended with error 2

unable to wipe cache

I suspect the mounting point is wrong... if it is: how do I edit the script?

***************
P.S: TWRP is now refusing to restore partitions it backed up: transactions breaks -- at wiping cache stage with above error -- does not continue restoration.
***************
P.S. 09/09/18: Skipping cache tick allows backup to proceed.


RE: TWRP can't wipe cache; cannot restore backed up partitions - X3non - 09-07-2018

(09-07-2018, 12:35 PM)Samuel Banda Wrote:  Hello....

Wz jx about to flash a custom rom with OS ported for my kernel and chip, until TWRP failed to wipe cache partition.

It wiped Davik Cache, but failed to wipe cache with the error:
Quote:formatting cache using mkfs.f2fs

mkfs.f2fs -t 0 /dev/block/mmcblk0p19 process ended with error 2

unable to wipe cache

I suspect the mounting point is wrong... if it is: how do I edit the script?

***************
P.S: TWRP is now refusing to restore partitions it backed up: transactions breaks -- at wiping cache stage with above error -- does not continue restoration.

verify the mount point of your phone using the guide at https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-11203.html
btw whats your device model?
and how did you obtain this TWRP?


RE: TWRP can't wipe cache; cannot restore backed up partitions - Samuel Banda - 09-07-2018

(09-07-2018, 03:42 PM)X3non Wrote:  verify the mount point of your phone using the guide at https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-11203.html
btw whats your device model?
and how did you obtain this TWRP?

It is an Infinix device: Hot 5 Lite.


RE: TWRP can't wipe cache; cannot restore backed up partitions - Samuel Banda - 09-07-2018

(09-07-2018, 03:42 PM)X3non Wrote:  I suspect the mounting point is wrong... if it is: how do I edit the script?

***************
P.S: TWRP is now refusing to restore partitions it backed up: transactions breaks -- at wiping cache stage with above error -- does not continue restoration.

verify the mount point of your phone using the guide at https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-11203.html
btw whats your device model?
and how did you obtain this TWRP?

I used Auto Porter from Hovatek.... It jx turns out that the mount point is the same "dev/block/mmcblk0p19" for cache.... The error is thus buffling to me.. .


RE: TWRP can't wipe cache; cannot restore backed up partitions - Protechacha - 09-08-2018

(09-07-2018, 05:46 PM)Samuel Banda Wrote:  
(09-07-2018, 03:42 PM)X3non Wrote:  I suspect the mounting point is wrong... if it is: how do I edit the script?

***************
P.S: TWRP is now refusing to restore partitions it backed up: transactions breaks -- at wiping cache stage with above error -- does not continue restoration.

verify the mount point of your phone using the guide at https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-11203.html
btw whats your device model?
and how did you obtain this TWRP?

I used Auto Porter from Hovatek.... It jx turns out that the mount point is the same "dev/block/mmcblk0p19" for cache.... The error is thus buffling to me.. .

try other twrp, like this [ Login / Register to download free]


RE: TWRP can't wipe cache; cannot restore backed up partitions - X3non - 09-08-2018

(09-07-2018, 05:46 PM)Samuel Banda Wrote:  I used Auto Porter from Hovatek.... It jx turns out that the mount point is the same "dev/block/mmcblk0p19" for cache.... The error is thus buffling to me.. .

try flashing back stock recovery then wipe cache and factory reset. see if that works


RE: TWRP can't wipe cache; cannot restore backed up partitions - Samuel Banda - 09-09-2018

(09-08-2018, 04:10 PM)Protechacha Wrote: [ Login / Register to download free]
Thanks Protechacha. Upload date is sep 2017, it will brick my build -- which is different..


RE: TWRP can't wipe cache; cannot restore backed up partitions - Samuel Banda - 09-09-2018

(09-08-2018, 08:13 PM)X3non Wrote:  
(09-07-2018, 05:46 PM)Samuel Banda Wrote:  I used Auto Porter from Hovatek.... It jx turns out that the mount point is the same "dev/block/mmcblk0p19" for cache.... The error is thus buffling to me.. .

try flashing back stock recovery then wipe cache and factory reset. see if that works
Backup restore fix: Skipping cache worked. It didn't occur to me that I should skip it...

Device running from where I left off. Decided not to upgrade OS until my wipe cache problem is fixed.


RE: TWRP can't wipe cache; cannot restore backed up partitions - Samuel Banda - 09-09-2018

(09-08-2018, 08:13 PM)X3non Wrote:  try flashing back stock recovery then wipe cache and factory reset. see if that works

My TWRP reads:

<b> 3.0.2-1 Ported by Team Hovatek </b> : thus, is there a way to change the twrp image to the latest version in Auto Porter?

I ask because, from the looks of things, it seems TWRP is EXCLUSIVELY using the cache partition dev/block/mmcblk0p19 when I enter recovery mode (making cache busy).


RE: TWRP can't wipe cache; cannot restore backed up partitions - hovatek - 09-10-2018

(09-09-2018, 05:01 AM)Samuel Banda Wrote:  My TWRP reads:

<b> 3.0.2-1 Ported by Team Hovatek </b> : thus, is there a way to change the twrp image to the latest version in Auto Porter?

I ask because, from the looks of things, it seems TWRP is EXCLUSIVELY using the cache partition dev/block/mmcblk0p19 when I enter recovery mode (making cache busy).

1. Have you tried flashing stock recovery and wiping cache in stock recovery?
2. What version of our TWRP porter did you use?
3. Upload your stock recovery and paste the link here