Rooting Tecno Pop 2 Plus - Printable Version

+- Hovatek Forum (https://forum.hovatek.com)
+-- Forum: DEVELOPMENT (https://forum.hovatek.com/forum-38.html)
+--- Forum: Android (https://forum.hovatek.com/forum-39.html)
+--- Thread: Rooting Tecno Pop 2 Plus (/thread-31313.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4


Rooting Tecno Pop 2 Plus - [email protected] - 11-24-2019

Guys, forgive a layman. I am looking for a way to root my Tecno Pop 2 Plus. Here are the specifics;

About phone
Status
Phone number, signal, etc.
Device name
TECNO POP 2 Plus
Model
TECNO BA2
HIOS version
HiOS v4.1.0 (0-P81-190626)
Android version
8.1.0
Android security patch level
July 5, 2019
Build number
BA2-H8027ABC-OGo-19071OV263
Baseband version
MOLY.WR8.W1449.MD.WG.MPV222, 2019/06/18 10:42
Kernel version
3.18.79+ (gcc version 6.3.1 20170404 (Linaro GCC 6.3-2017.05))
[email protected] # 2
Wed Jul 10 02:48:50 CST 2019
C

I always appreciate your input.

Thanks.



Sent from my TECNO BA2 using Hovatek Mobile


RE: Rooting Tecno Pop 2 Plus - X3non - 11-25-2019

(11-24-2019, 05:16 AM)[email protected] Wrote:  Guys, forgive a layman. I am looking for a way to root my Tecno Pop 2 Plus. Here are the specifics;
...
I always appreciate your input.
Thanks.

Sent from my TECNO BA2 using Hovatek Mobile

you'll need to backup firmware from your device and also unlock bootloader

backup firmware using wwr mtk @ https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-21970.html or use miracle thunder @ https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-13347.html
you'll need to use a custom DA for backup, download for your model @ https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-23243.html

if backup is successful then you can attempt rooting using the guide @ https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-21427.html


RE: Rooting Tecno Pop 2 Plus - [email protected] - 11-25-2019

Thank you so much. Will try to do that. I will be feeding you back.

Sent from my TECNO BA2 using Hovatek Mobile


RE: Rooting Tecno Pop 2 Plus - [email protected] - 01-05-2020

Happy New Year, brilliant minds!

Thanks for your walkthrough. I managed to dump the ROM using Wwr + SP Flash tool. I went ahead to patch the boot.img in Magisk. However when I try to flash the patched image in adb I get the Error "Cannot load patched_boot.img". The device is well detected in both adb and fastboot and I saved the patched file in the same directory as adb tools on C\: from where I'm running the commands.

I'm also drawing blanks when I try to flash the image using the SP Flash tool. I am getting  BROM ERROR : S_SECURITY_SECURE_USB_DL_IMAGE_SIGN_HEADER_NOT_FOUND (6045). 

Then tried to use the Write Memory utility (as advised by someone for whom that worked) and get  Error 1002: S_INVALID_ARGUMENTS.

I'm using the Scatter file from the dumped ROM.

I request your unparalleled guidance.

Thanks in advance.

HNY once again.


RE: Rooting Tecno Pop 2 Plus - rggr5 - 01-05-2020

Did you unlock bootloader before attempt rooting.


RE: Rooting Tecno Pop 2 Plus - [email protected] - 01-05-2020

Yes. Bootloader unlocked already.


RE: Rooting Tecno Pop 2 Plus - rggr5 - 01-05-2020

If you don't want to bother finding errors behind unsuccessful fastboot flashing then you can try this tool :
[ Login / Register to download free]
I'm not advertising this tool it's just an awesome tool which has also helped me a lot in such type of errors. The installation password is available in .txt file, after installation complete copy and paste your patched_boot in  C:\Program Files\KKC TEAM\KKC TOOL\AutoPlay\Docs\ADB_Fastboot
After copy paste open this tool i.e; KKC tool from desktop shortcut if you've created and open adb fastboot option then try flashing, hope it will help you.


RE: Rooting Tecno Pop 2 Plus - X3non - 01-06-2020

(01-05-2020, 07:40 PM)[email protected] Wrote:  Yes. Bootloader unlocked already.

seeing as bootloader is unlocked, flash patched boot using the "How to Flash patched_boot.img using Fastboot" instructions @ https://forum.hovatek.com/thread-21427.html


RE: Rooting Tecno Pop 2 Plus - [email protected] - 01-06-2020

Thanks X3non,

I already followed the guide to the letter. That's when I'm getting the error (Cannot load patched_boot.img).

Device is well detected (adb/fastboot).


RE: Rooting Tecno Pop 2 Plus - [email protected] - 01-06-2020

@rggr5,

Thanks, let me try your suggestion.