Hovatek Forum DEVELOPMENT Android [Development] How to get the mount points of an Android phone
Can't login? Please, reset your password.
Hovatek is recruiting! Apply Now


[Development] How to get the mount points of an Android phone

[Development] How to get the mount points of an Android phone

hovatek
hovatek
hovatek
Administrator
49,570
08-01-2016, 09:52 PM
#1



When porting a custom recovery,  it's important you specify the correct mount points in recovery.fstab to avoid problems. You might also need the mount points to dump a partition via adb dd method

Requirements


Steps to get a Mediatek, Spreadtrum, Qualcomm etc Android phone's mount points


Follow the steps below to get an Android phone's mount points

See the video tutorial below or @ https://youtu.be/yvpus846WZU

  1. Install a root browser (e.g ROM Toolbox lite) and navigate to the dev/block/platform folder
  2. Open each folder in the platform folder till you find a folder named "by-name"
  3. Take note of the name folder in which the "by-name" folder is found (for this tutorial, lets call it parentfolder)
  4. Alternatively, you can use the cd command in command prompt to run this search
  5. Launch ADB and type the code below. Press Enter after each line

    Code:

    adb devices
    adb shell
    su
    ls -al /dev/block/platform/parentfolder/by-name


    [Image: how-to-get-mount-points-of-an-android-phone.jpg]

  6. You should get an output like in the image below

    [Image: how-to-get-the-mount-points-of-an-mtk-or...-phone.jpg]
This post was last modified: 29-05-2020, 10:29 AM by X3non.

Note!
We have a reply schedule for Free Support. Please upgrade to Private Support if you can't wait.
Drockstar
Drockstar
Drockstar
Senior Member
504
09-01-2016, 05:54 AM
#2
Boss don't really understand the used and the important of this tutorial..(mount point )
X3non
X3non
X3non
Recognized Contributor
22,062
09-01-2016, 07:03 PM
#3
(09-01-2016, 05:54 AM)Drockstar Boss don't really understand the used and the important of this tutorial..(mount point )

when porting images (boot or recovery) you're going to need to know the mount points of that particular device you wish to port the image to

* thats what this tutorial is for
edneyhelene
edneyhelene
edneyhelene
Junior Member
22
31-12-2016, 03:13 AM
#4
Thanks alot for this!
Omnitrix
Omnitrix
Omnitrix
Junior Member
34
26-02-2017, 11:15 AM
#5



SD card show 0mb help me here is screenshot link [Image: 11b044a503d0645918a28b387c0703fd.jpg]

Sent from my Pixel V2 using the Hovatek Forum App
Omnitrix
Omnitrix
Omnitrix
Junior Member
34
26-02-2017, 12:26 PM
#6
(26-02-2017, 11:15 AM)Omnitrix SD card show 0mb help me here is screenshot link [Image: 11b044a503d0645918a28b387c0703fd.jpg]

Sent from my Pixel V2 using the Hovatek Forum App
Here is mount points[Image: b9095dcec8912fe7b64388d4a88720d2.jpg]

Sent from my Pixel V2 using the Hovatek Forum App
suhi02
suhi02
suhi02
Junior Member
36
21-12-2017, 02:54 PM
#7
HI ,

I am trying to create a flashable zip as mentioned here - https://www.hovatek.com/forum/thread-20497.html
Mount failed while flashing system image.

as per the instruction I have chosen
WHAT YOUR OPTION [DEFAULT=FROM_KERNEL 1=FROM_DEVICE 2=MANUALLY 0=CANCEL]:2

My system is found here - /dev/block/platform/soc.0/7824900.sdhci/by-name

So my question is what do I write in WRITE THE PATH HERE:

Any help will be appreciated

Thanks
suhi02
suhi02
suhi02
Junior Member
36
21-12-2017, 03:05 PM
#8
(21-12-2017, 02:54 PM)suhi02 HI ,

I am trying to create a flashable zip as mentioned here - https://www.hovatek.com/forum/thread-20497.html
Mount failed while flashing system image.

as per the instruction I have chosen
WHAT YOUR OPTION [DEFAULT=FROM_KERNEL 1=FROM_DEVICE 2=MANUALLY 0=CANCEL]:2

My system is found here - /dev/block/platform/soc.0/7824900.sdhci/by-name

So my question is what do I write in WRITE THE PATH HERE:

Any help will be appreciated

Thanks

Hi following are my mount points

lrwxrwxrwx root     root              1970-06-06 11:56 syscfg -> /dev/block/mmcblk0p35
lrwxrwxrwx root     root              1970-06-06 11:56 system -> /dev/block/mmcblk0p24
lrwxrwxrwx root     root              1970-06-06 11:56 tz -> /dev/block/mmcblk0p8



Please tell me what should i put in Write the path here while creating zip file?
Thanks
xerxes
xerxes
xerxes
Senior Member
8,355
21-12-2017, 03:51 PM
#9
(21-12-2017, 02:54 PM)suhi02 HI ,

I am trying to create a flashable zip as mentioned here - https://www.hovatek.com/forum/thread-20497.html
Mount failed while flashing system image.

as per the instruction I have chosen
WHAT YOUR OPTION [DEFAULT=FROM_KERNEL 1=FROM_DEVICE 2=MANUALLY 0=CANCEL]:2

My system is found here - /dev/block/platform/soc.0/7824900.sdhci/by-name

So my question is what do I write in WRITE THE PATH HERE:

Any help will be appreciated

Thanks

Please, create a new thread, so we can focus on it.
See https://www.hovatek.com/forum/thread-514.html for how to create a thread.
X3non
X3non
X3non
Recognized Contributor
22,062
21-12-2017, 03:59 PM
#10



(21-12-2017, 02:54 PM)suhi02 ...

Any help will be appreciated

Thanks

from the selection you made, "2". 2 is for manual input
type in the mount point of /system partition on your device.
Code:

e.g
/dev/block/platform/soc.0/7824900.sdhci/by-name

if you still have more queries based on this, then create a new thread so we'll focus on this
see https://www.hovatek.com/forum/thread-514.html for how to create a thread
This post was last modified: 21-12-2017, 04:29 PM by X3non.
Users browsing this thread:
 1 Guest(s)
Users browsing this thread:
 1 Guest(s)
YtWhTl
live chat
whatsapp telegram instagram